2025 Quiz 3

This week’s quiz is prepared by Greg Bartemes in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.

NFHS Rules

  1. 4th/9 on K’s 49YL. R22 makes a fair catch signal while the punt is in the air. The kick goes over his/her head, lands on the - 8YL and is rolling toward the GL. R22 blocks K81 to prevent them from downing the ball near the GL. The BJ flags R22 for illegal block. R22 recovers the punt. The crew administered the foul from the previous spot since it is a loose ball foul and awarded K a 1st down at R’s 36YL.

  2. 4th/9 on K’s 49YL. R22 makes a fair catch signal while the punt is in the air. R22 muffs the ball into the air where K81 pushes R22 in an attempt to reach the ball, R22 is able to catch and secure the muff in the air. The BJ flags K81 for KCI, explaining to the coach the kick had not ended by rule when K81 made contact.

  3. Home team just scored, losing by 4 points with 1:50 left in the game. Everyone is expecting on onside kick. K13 kicks the ball in the air from the middle of the field toward their SL and over the heads of R’s front line. K82 runs under the ball, jumps and bats the ball back allowing K42 to recover. The crew awarded K the ball explaining to the coach the kick crossed R’s FK line when it was touched.

  4. 4th/7 from K’s 12YL. At the snap K is flagged for 5 players in the backfield-illegal formation. K47’s punt is partially blocked and recovered by R on K’s 9YL. The crew administered the penalty half the distance to the goal, 1st/goal R from the 4½YL.

  5. With 1:32 remaining in the game and A winning 21-20. A32 runs off tackle and B51 is flagged for a 15 yard facemask. After the play A32 taunts B51 and is flagged for UNS. Does rule 3-4-7 apply in this situation when you have a foul by both teams?

  6. With 1:32 remaining in the game and B is winning 21-20. A12 is running the hurry up offense, muffs the snap, picks up the ball and spikes it to stop the clock. The R flags A12 for illegal forward pass, enforced the 5yd penalty and loss of down from the spot of the foul. HC for B asked for the status of the GC and the R stated it will start on the snap per rule 3-4-3e.

  7. After administering a penalty for a 1st down and 24 secs left in the first half, A informs the officials they will let the live clock run out by taking a knee. Everyone is informed of the situation; the R blows the RFP and winds the clock. The clock operator does not start the clock right away and with 3 seconds remaining the HC for B calls TO; the clock operator does not stop the clock and allows it to run to 0:00. The LJ informs the R they had a 4 sec count prior to the clock operator starting the clock after the RFP whistle. What are your options in this situation?

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. A runs the option and is disciplined with this type of offense. A12 fakes the inside run and sweeps right with A32 in position for the pitch. They run 3 yds beyond the LOS maintaining the formation with A12 finally pitching back to A32. The LJ tosses a bean bag marking the YL for the backward pass.

  2. 1st/10 A on their own 3YL. The ball placement is close to the middle of the field. The crew lines up in GLM being inside the 5YL.

OHSAA Regulations

  1. Prior to a JV game both coaches asked the officials if the 40/25 play clock can be used so their players and the clock operator can “get practice for Friday nights”.