2015 Quiz 4 - Rules Geek

This week’s Rules Geek is prepared by Jerry Peters in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.

NFHS Rules

  1. K, 4/8 @ K’s 2 YL. K1 punts the ball and R1 gives a valid fair catch signal. R2 catches the ball and R’s HC informs the LJ he wants to attempt a free kick after fair catch.

  2. The free kick KO by K1 is possessed by R1 who is airborne & alights with one foot in contact with the sideline at the RT’s 26 YL.

  3. A, 2/9 @ A’s 25 YL. A1 completes a forward pass to A2 @ B’s 40 YL where A2 is immediately tackled. B1 roughs A1 after the pass is thrown. The R signals the penalty and then penalty declined; 1/10 for A @ B’s 40 YL. The HC argues he wants the penalty and the R states this is a loose ball foul that will be enforced from the previous spot and it’s more advantageous to decline to penalty.

  4. A, 3/5 @ A’s 30 YL. A2 (snapper) is blocking when his helmet comes off at A’s 32 YL. A2 hustles to the A 36 YL and continues to block B1. The U blows his whistle and signals to stop the GC due to A2’s helmet coming off.

  5. A, 2/10 @ B’s 40 YL. A1 hands the ball off to A2 (right guard) who turns and faces his EL and is 2 yards behind the LOS when he receives the ball. A2 is downed at B’s 28 YL. The U throws a flag for illegal handing.

  6. A, 2/10 @ B’s 35 YL. A1 is a receiver and is lined up 3 yards from the SL at the snap. The ball is advanced 1 yard. A1 simply blocks B1. A1 then goes back on his side of the NZ still 3 yards from the SL and never went inside the numbers since the last snap. The ball is snapped and the LJ throws a flag for illegal formation for A1 not being inside the 9 yard marks prior to the snap.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. Sub varsity game. A, 3/10 @ B’s 30 YL. A2 is lined up in an eligible position but is numbered 71. A2 catches a forward pass and scores a TD. The U flags A2 for illegal touching.

  2. During a sub varsity game (4 man mechanics) the veteran R tells the U to keep the 25 second PC since he is facing the QB.

  3. On a penalty called by the U there is confusion how the penalty is to be administered. The Crew gets together and the R tells the U he needs to explain what he thinks. The LJ starts to talk and the R says “he threw the flag this is between the U and I only”.

OHSAA Regulations

  1. After the opening CT the R signaled the options to the PB and immediately after he heard thunder. The game was suspended immediately. After multiple lightning and thunder suspensions the teams decided to suspend the game until Saturday night. The Crew went back on Saturday and brought the captains to midfield 20 minutes prior to KO and asked each team if they wanted to change their options. They did NOT re-toss.