2015 Quiz 3 - Your Call

This week’s Your Call is prepared by Dave Ramsey in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. The clock is running with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth period as A1 drops back about 4 yards and intentionally grounds a forward pass to stop the clock. The penalty is accepted. The R starts the clock on the ready (Consume/conserve Rule) following penalty enforcement and time expires before A can snap the ball.

  2. After the ready for play and prior to the ball being kicked, the KT has five players to the left of the kicker and five players to the right of the kicker with the ball spotted at the KT40. Prior to the ball being kicked, player K 80 has both feet clearly beyond the KT35 (toward midfield) but his hand is touching behind the KT35 (toward K’s goal line).

  3. During the second down of a series, the game clock goes directly from 1:45 to: 45 and is not detected. Following third down, time expires for the second period. Before the R has indicated the period has officially ended (S14), the error is discovered.

  4. During third down, time expires for the first period. A lineman held on the play which ended four yards short of the line to gain. B declines the penalty forcing forth down and a probable punting situation. Will the period be extended?

  5. At the end of the fourth period, the score is tied. After the last timed down, A40 commits a dead ball personal foul.

  6. During live ball action, A is flagged for two fouls and B commits one.

  7. A leads 21­20 with three seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. It is A’s ball fourth and 1 yard to go on A’s 45 YL. A1 muffs the snap and A2 holds while the ball is loose. B1 recovers and advances to A’s 1 YL where he is downed. During B1’s advance, B2 clips at A’s 10 YL and time expires during the down. In an effort to prevent a double foul, B declines the penalty for A2’s foul. The captain of A then wishes to decline the penalty for B2’s foul.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. In a freshman game, A79 lines up as a flanker off the LOS. He goes down field and catches a pass for a first down. The wing throws his flag and tells the R he has an illegal touching foul on A79.

  2. A’s quarterback throws a short “pitch” to the full back. The wing and R rule the “pitch” is a backward pass even though the “pitch” is parallel with the runner’s end line. Both officials yell “back” and punch back to indicate the backward pass.

OHSAA Regulations

  1. True or False? The OHSAA point differential rule applies to 7th and 8th grade games.