2014 Black and White – Quiz 10

This week’s Black and White prepared by Larry Clemmons in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. A scores a TD and is now behind 47 – 46. They elect to attempt a 2 point Try. QB A13 rolls right and throws to A86 close to the SL and about 6 yards deep in the EZ. The LJ signals TD. At the same time the BJ comes over and signals incomplete pass and throws his hat for A86 stepping OOB before the catch. No flag has been thrown as yet. The officials get together and discuss the play. A foul for illegal touching by A86 is called for stepping OOB before the catch. They inform A’s HC that the game is over as illegal touching carries a LOD provision. A loses 47 – 46. The LJ, during the crew discussion and with less than 5 years experience, knew the foul was not illegal touching, but should be illegal participation with a replay of the Try. He was over ruled by two more veteran officials.

  2. A, 3/7 at B’s 30 YL. Eligible receiver A89 goes OOBs on his own. After returning inbounds he is interfered with by B17 and the pass falls incomplete.

  3. Late in the fourth quarter and with A behind, A7 is in a “shotgun” formation. A16, who is a running back, is lined up behind the left tackle. A7, after not finding an open receiver and wanting to stop the clock, throws the ball forward at the feet of A16 who has turned back toward A7.

  4. K, 4/8 on K’s 40 YL. The snap goes over punter K2’s head. He retreats to K’s 15 YL and punts the ball from there. The kick only goes to K’s 35 YL where (a) R69 muffs the ball and K49 falls on it at K’s 33 YL, or (b) K35 picks up the ball and runs to K’s 49 YL.

  5. Last play of the second quarter. The VT throws a TD pass as time expires. During the play A (VT) is called for holding. The penalty is accepted and the officials tell the VT HC that the half is over as you only extend the period on a defensive foul.

  6. After K’s FK and while the untouched kick is in flight downfield, R33 blocks holder K3 at K’s FK line. The block is above the waist and from the front.

  7. K, 4/6 from R’s 30 YL. K’s unsuccessful FG attempt strikes the ground beyond R’s EL. While the kick is in flight, R15 holds K3 at R’s 25 YL.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. K’s punt rolls OOB downfield and the LJ goes beyond the spot, turns, raises his hand, and looks back at the R to chop.

  2. When can the R signal the result of a Try?

OHSAA Regulations

  1. October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. In recognition of this, the crew of officials have decided to wear pink wrist bands and use pink flags. Is this allowed?