2014 Black and White - Quiz 7

This week’s Black and White prepared by Larry Clemmons in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. Late in the 4th quarter, A’s HC calls a TO. The LJ grants the TO. After granting the TO, the crew of officials realize that A does not have any TOs remaining. The crew penalizes A for an UNS foul.

  2. K, 4/14 at K’s 42 YL. K17’s kick is caught by R26 on R’s 4 YL and his momentum carries him into R’s EZ where he is tackled. After the catch, but before R26 is tackled, R9 clips K52 (a) in R’s EZ, or, (b) at R’s 11 YL.

  3. A1 is carrying the ball down the SL when B33 legally contacts him on the field of play, knocking A1 OOB. As A1 contacts the ground OOB his helmet comes off. Does A1 have to leave the game for a play if his helmet comes off after a play and OOB?

  4. A scores a TD and during the down, B commits a 5 yard FM foul. A chooses to enforce the penalty on the KO. A runs for a successful 2 point Try and during the Try, B commits a 15 yard FM foul. A also chooses to enforce this foul on the KO. Are both fouls enforced on the KO since both fouls are live ball fouls?

  5. B12 intercepts A16’s legal forward pass at midfield. At A’s 10 YL he is hit and the ball pops into the air. The ball is caught by A80 at A’s 4 YL and his momentum carries him into the EZ where he is downed.

  6. A26 fumbles at B’s 4 YL and the ball rolls into the EZ. B66 bats the ball over the EL to prevent an opponent from recovering it.

  7. In the 1st period A is warned and then later penalized 5 yards for SL interference for having more than 3 coaches in the restricted area. The same infraction occurs again in the third and again in the fourth period .How are these situations penalized?

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. On what type of play situations should a bean bag be used?

  2. On a COP which officials should signal TO?

OHSAA Regulations

  1. How should a crew handle teams leaving at the same end of the field?