2014 Black and White - Quiz 4

This week’s Black and White prepared by Larry Clemmons in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. A16 is 30 yards beyond the LOS and in the clear when B55, in (a), is in pursuit and within 10 yards of A16, is “blind sided” by a legal block by A76, or (b), is more than 20 yards behind the play, and is not actively pursuing A16, and is “blind sided” by a legal block by A76.

  2. A, 2/5 at B’s 20 YL. A24 is at B’s 5 YL when B27 charges from behind and knocks the ball from A24’s hands. The ball rolls into the pylon.

  3. A, 3/7 at B’s 40 YL. A7 throws a legal FP that is intercepted by B18 at B’s 6 YL. B18’s momentum carries him to B’s 2 YL where he is hit by A87. B18 fumbles the football as a result of the contact and the ball bounces once inbounds and then strikes a pylon.

  4. A’s FG is successful during the last play of the first quarter. B66 fouls by running into the kicker. A accepts the result of the play with enforcement of the penalty at the SS. Is the quarter extended for an untimed down?

  5. A is at the LOS with the QB under center when B35 calls out “Go” or “Hike”. Are these legal defensive signals?

  6. K, 4/11 at K’s 49 YL. K11’s punt lands at R’s 4 YL and bounces into the air. No R player is in the area to catch the kick. K 17 has sprinted downfield and turns and bats the football toward his own GL from R’s 2 YL. R9 recovers the ball on R’s 6 YL and attempts to return the kick, but retreats into his EZ where he is tackled.

  7. A, 3/10 at A’s 30 YL. Eligible A88 goes OOB voluntarily at A’s 40 YL and returns inbounds at midfield. While a legal FP is in flight, B13 interferes with A 88. A10’s pass is incomplete.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. On the opening KO, the wind has blown the ball off the tee two times. What mechanic is to be used after this situation?

  2. The weather forecast has possible storms in the area. What should be a part of your pregame meetings?

OHSAA Regulations

  1. For a game involving two nationally ranked teams, the crew of officials have decided to use a seven man crew. Is this legal?