2013 Black and White - Quiz 11

This week’s Black and White prepared by Larry Clemmons in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. How are the following situations handled? In (a) an assistant coach has received an UNSfor berating an official. Later in the game the HC receives a UNS. The HC is ejected for two UNS. In (b) the HC comes out onto the field between plays and berates the officiating crew. In (c) the HC calls a TO and comes onto the field to talk with his team. He then berates the officials for a call they made on the previous down.

  2. A, 2/10 at B’s 41 YL. A7 throws a legal forward pass that is intercepted by B20 at B’s 2 YL. B20 attempts to run forward but is hit, spins around and then runs back into B’s EZ. While in B’s EZ and IW sounded.

  3. A, 3/G at B’s 6 YL. A12 hands the ball to A26 who is contacted immediately by B55 at the B8 YL. In his attempt to tackle A26, B55 grasps and twists A26’s face mask at B’s 8 YL. A26 disengages from the tackle but retreats and is eventually tackled at B’s 10 YL. B55 is flagged for a 15 yard face mask penalty.

  4. A, 1/10 at B’s 40 YL. A10 throws a legal forward pass that is intercepted by B17 at B’s 20 YL. B17 seeing himself surrounded by A players, tries to throw a backward pass to B10 at B’s 30 YL. The official covering the play rules that the pass is a forward pass. The pass is caught by B10 at B’s 32 YL and B10 is tackled at A’s 47 YL.

  5. K, 4/5 at R’s 47 YL. During K’s kick R45 holds at R’s 38 YL. R13 catches the kick at R’s 8 YL and returns it to R’s 40 YL where he is hit and fumbles the ball. K19 recovers the ball at R’s 43 YL.

  6. K, 4/6 at B’s 30 YL. K’s FG attempt is partially blocked. The ball bounces at R’s 1 YL and then crosses the plane of R’s GL. During the down R56 holds K87 at R’s 22 YL.

  7. A. 3/6 at A’s 7 YL. A28 takes a handoff and is hit at A’s 4 YL. A28 fumbles the ball. The football (a) hits the ground, bounces up and is recovered by A74 at the A 4 YL; or (b) pops up into the air and is caught in mid-air by A74 at A’s 4 YL. A74’s original momentum carries him into A’s EZ where he is tackled and downed.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. Should the U’s IP on runs always be on the opposite side of the defensive LOS from the R?

  2. The ball is spotted on A’s 10 YL. How is the GL to be covered?

OHSAA Regulations

  1. How do you handle a situation where a wrong player has been ejected from a game and is not detected until the next day?