2013 Black and White - Quiz 6

This week’s Black and White prepared by Larry Clemmons in association with Beau Rugg and Dr. Bruce Maurer. Click here to view a PDF of the quiz along with the answers.


  1. A, Try from B’s 3 YL. A sets up in a “muddle huddle” scrimmage kick formation with six A players on the LOS outside the left HM, two A players several yards off the LOS inside the right HM, a snapper, A80, over the ball in the center of the field, a holder with a knee on the ground 7 yards behind the snapper and A7 in position to kick the ball. The snapper, A80 makes a direct snap to A7 who fakes a pass to a receiver to his right and then passes over the middle to A80 in the EZ.

  2. A, 4/12 at A’s 30 YL. A is ahead, A 21 –B 18. There is 2:24 left in the 4th quarter. A’s legal kick is caught by B8 who fumbles the ball and the ball is recovered by A12. The R starts the clock on the RFP since A has a first down. After a play is run, B’s HC asks for a TO to discuss the clock status after the kick. There is 2:07 left in the 4th quarter. (a) Should the R have started the clock after the recovery by A? (b) What can the R do in correcting timing errors?

  3. B1 intercepts a pass at his own 3 YL. His momentum takes him into his own EZ where he fumbles. B1 and A13 simultaneously recover the loose ball.

  4. K, 4/17 from K’s 13 YL. K17’s kick hits the ground at K’s 23 YL. R8 then gives a FC signal at K’s 23 YL. R8 attempts to recover the loose ball, but muffs it and it rolls into K’s EZ where R60 falls on it.

  5. K, 4/10 on K’s 10 YL. R11 catches a kick on R’s 45 YL and advances to the 50 YL, where he runs OOB. While the kick is in flight, K66 holds at K’s 6 YL. R accepts K’s penalty. Clock status?

  6. A, 2/10 at B’s 32 YL. A11 is roughed after he releases a legal forward pass. A86 catches the pass and runs to B’s 4 YL where he fumbles. The ball strikes the GL pylon. Clock?

  7. A11 snaps the ball before the RFP.

OHSAA Mechanics

  1. On punt formations where is the IP for the U?

  2. The R and U count the offense and realize they only have 10 players. How should they communicate to each other that there are only 10 players for A?

OHSAA Regulations

  1. During the pregame meeting with one of the HC’s he begins to berate the officiating crew of his game last week, which he lost. How should the crew handle such a situation?